Date Posted
Round 8 Fern Furnishing Loughborough Autotest.

Mark King and David Thompson both driving Vauxhall Nova's went into the Championship final, just 1 point apart and whoever won the class was going to secure 3rd overall in the Link Up Ltd MSA Autotest Championship.  Thompson held a 1.1 second advantage going into the final round of tests, but King produced the drive of his life to clinch victory, King went in to the final test with a slender 0.2 second lead and edged out Thompson by a further 0.6 to win the event by less than a second after 15 tests. This was also the first overall win for a Class B car at MSA Championship level.
Rob Rolston took the win in the Mini class, but it was David Fox who secured Championship Class A honours after a shaky start which saw the Mini driver pick up two penalties and a Maximum on the opening round, Fox recovered to finish second in class on the day, which was enough to retain his points lead over Rolston.

Event Top 5
1. Mark King               Vauxhall Nova     772.4
2. David Thompson       Vauxhall Nova     773.2
3. Malcolm Livingston   Lindsay Special   806.5
4. David Evans             Blitz Special         811.0
5. Paul Fobister            Haigh Special      815.3
Report from Round 7: Crimson Dynamo Autotest organised by Owen MC.

Stephen Ferguson secured the 2012 Link Up Ltd MSA Autotest title after another tight battle with Richard Pinkney, the latter needed to win to take the Championship to a final round decider and held a 7 second advantage after 9 tests, but a penalty on the following test saw Ferguson halve the difference and then the weather played a part, Ferguson had a drier run on the penultimate test and closed the gap to just 0.3 seconds, Pinkney responded on the final test and set a blistering time, only to focus on the baulk line at the finish and overshot the finish line incurring a 5 second penalty and handing the win to Ferguson.

Mark King has secured the MSA Junior Award and moved up to 3rd overall after David Thompson hit mechanical problems, the two Nova drivers go into the final round just 1 point apart, with all to play for for the final podium position and the Class B award.  Class A also will go down to a final round decider, between the Mini's of David Fox and Rob Rolston.

Event Top 3
1. Stephen Ferguson    Mini Special    611.0
2. Richard Pinkney       Caterham 7     614.2
3. Mark King                 Nova            652.2

Reports from the Hartlepool Championship Autotest and the Alwoodley MC Fern Furnishing Autotest.

Hartlepool Championship Autotest

Steven Ferguson took a dominant victory at the Hartlepool Championship Autotest at Seaton Carew.  The tests seem to suit the front wheel drive cars and there was a titanic battle between the Novas of Paul Mooney, Mark King and Lee Valentine, Mooney unfortunately breaking a driveshaft on the final test of the day dropping him down to 5th overall leaving King to take the class by just 0.2 sec from Valentine.  Richard Pinkney in the Caterham was unable to challenge for the win, but 2nd overall and a strong class win kept him in touch at the top of the table.

Event Top 6
1. Steven Ferguson   Mini Special   753.2
2. Richard Pinkney    Caterham 7    782.3
3. Mark King              Nova              788.3
4. Lee Valentine        Nova              788.5
5. Paul Mooney         Nova              804.8
6. Trevor Ferguson   Striker            806.5

Fern Furnishing Alwoodley Autotest

Richard Pinkney took his revenge from the previous day and set a blistering pace to seal his second win of the year, Steven Ferguson uncharacteristically picked up a couple of penalties, but was unable to close the gap to Pinkney, who himself had four penalties.  David Thompson found his form again after a poor day by his standards the previous day in the Nova taking the class win and 4th overall, which returned him to the top 3 in the championship.  Paul Mooney would have challenged for the class, but picked up a maximum time after another driveshaft failure early on in the event.  David Fox had a blistering last round to win Class A in his Mini, beating Rob Rolston by one second. Brian Sharpe won the Road Going Class in his Daihatsu after some overnight Heath Robinson repairs to the cooling system, using a domestic water pump and an inverter as a new water pump could not be sourced.

With two more round to run dropped scores will now come in to effect and the championship is likely to be decided at the next round.

Event Top 6
1. Richard Pinkney   Caterham 7     626.8
2. Steven Ferguson  Mini Special    639.6
3. Trevor Ferguson  Striker              667.9
4. David Thompson  Nova                680.4
5. David Evans         Blitz Special     683.1
6. Chris Chapman     Raw Striker     698.0
Round 5 the Tim Sargeant Memorial Autotest organised by Knutsford & District MC

Steven Ferguson driving his Mini Special took his third FTD of the season after a close battle with the Caterham of Richard Pinkney, Pinkney picked up a 5 second penalty of the third test of the day and was close the gap to Ferguson who kept a clean sheet and came home 6.8 seconds ahead.  Mark King took 3rd overall in a Nova ahead of the similar car of Paul Mooney. Dave Evans finished in 5th in the Blitz Special and picked up event class honours. David Fox won class A in his Mini and Brian Sharpe the Road Going class driving his Daihatsu.

Event Top 3
1. Steven Ferguson  (Mini Special) 683.0
2. Richard Pinkney   (Caterham 7)  689.8
3. Mark King             (Nova)         612.1

Round 4 CSMA Juniper Autotest CSMA NEL Group.
(Note: Round 3 at Maidstone which was scheduled for June 9th was cancelled due to a lack of entries)

Richard Pinkney took FTD at the Juniper Autotest after a shaky start after picking up two penalties in the opening round of tests and was lying 4th overall. Championship leader Steven Ferguson was quickest out of the blocks, but a gearbox failure on test 3 saw him collect a maximum penalty and put an end to his challenge, although swift work in the paddock saw the Mini Specials engine and box changed in under 40 minutes.
Pinkney was now in charge and overhauled the Novas of David Thompson and Mark King and the Striker of Chris Chapman to win by 14.2 seconds from Thompson and the recovering Ferguson, who managed to climb back up to 3rd overall.

Event Top 6
1. Richard Pinkney   Caterham 7 771.0
2. David Thompson Nova 785.2
3. Steven Ferguson Mini Special 794.4
4. Chris Chapman Raw Striker 803.6
5. Paul Fobister Haigh Special 827.8
6. Mark King Nova 829.1
Round 1: Jon MacKenzie Autotests, Hagley & District LCC

The 2012 Link Up Ltd MSA Autotest Championship got underway at the Jon MacKenzie Autotests, organised by Hagley & District Light Car Club.  The event (new to the MSA Calendar) was dominated by the Mini Special of Steven Ferguson the reigning Champion, although he was pushed all the way by Championship newcomer Robin Lyons in a Mini, Steven opened up a 3.2 second lead after the first four tests, which was to be the biggest gap between to two drivers all day and Robin eventually finished just 2.5 seconds adrift after the 16 tests. David Thompson made it an Irish lockout of the podium positions, with a fine drive to 3rd overall in his Vauxhall Nova. Richard Pinkney was also in contention over the early tests in the Caterham, but gearbox and engine problems meant he picked up a maximum on test 10, but recovered to 4th overall. Paul Mooney and Mark King both in Nova's also made the trip over the Irish Sea and finished a very respectable 5th and 6th on their Championship debuts.